Eileen Bone Award

Annual Award Given to a Pupil of Naenae College About to Attend Victoria University of Wellington

Organised by The Humanist Society. Supported by Naenae College. Funded by The Humanist Trust. Administered by The Victoria University of Wellington Foundation.

Eileen Bone was a Humanist, educator and teacher. At the end of her teaching career she was teaching at Naenae College near Wellington. When she died in 2000 she left a large sum of money for Humanist purposes, which became the Humanist Trust. To acknowledge Eileen and the importance of Naenae College the Humanist Society of New Zealand has applied to the Humanist Trust for, and been granted, money to offer a scholarship of $1000 a year for a first year of study at Victoria University of Wellington to a pupil of the college.

The scholarship was awarded twice in 2004 – once to a pupil who had just begun study, and later in the year to a pupil preparing to attend. It has been awarded yearly thereafter.

Courtney BrownNovember 2012
Darryn KouoiNovember 2011
Ross JordanNovember 2010
Alycia ParkNovember 2009
Olivia KrakoskyNovember 2008
Natu FinauNovember 2007
Nikki MorganNovember 2006
Jessica ChowNovember 2005
Jonnel JauniqueOctober 2004
Ruth PolaczukApril 2004

See the Humanist Trust Announcement and the Naenae College Scholarship Announcement and Eileen Bone‘s obituary

The Ray Carr Award

Occasional Award Given for Outstanding Services to Humanism in New Zealand

Ray Carr1990
Dr Jim Woolnough1991
Jim Dakin1991
Eric Grimes1992
Peggy Slater1993
Jack Shallcrass1994
Eileen Bone1995
Robert Miller1999
Maureen Hoy2000
Frank Dungey2006
Gaylene Middleton2018
Iain Middleton2018